Silvertone Organ Amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th April 2008, 01:51 PM   #1
higbone is offline higbone  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Silvertone Organ Amp

Hello...I'm a newbie and have lots of questions. I tried reviving an old thread that discussed someone's project of turning an old Silvertone organ amp into a guitar amp - to no avail. I was wondering what ever became of the project, or if anybody else has had experience with this type of mod.

I am just looking for suggestions, unique ideas, problems to watch out for, how effective the tremelo mod could be...etc. By the way, I am not knowledgable on electronics, but have a "tubie" friend that will help along the way.

Thanks in advance for the insights!

higbone
Old 5th April 2008, 02:44 PM   #2
PRNDL is offline PRNDL  United States
diyAudio Member

If the amp works, it may be possible to convert it to a guitar amp with a few simple changes. Sometimes, however, that is a lot more headache than its worth. I've done several of these and know first hand.

Perhaps the best way is to find a well known amp (i.e. Fender) that uses the same tubes and controls, and then rebuild the amp with a circuit board from the new amp. You'll end up with a really cool amp.

What tubes are in your organ amp?
Old 6th April 2008, 01:24 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi...thanks for your reply.