• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Help! My amp stopped singing...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I have to say that my knowledhe of electronics is still pretty limited but, with some help, I did manage to build a pair of 300B amps, Thorsten´s full monkey style, which I have been enyoying big time for the last three years without a single glitch.

Last week my audio nirvana came to a sudden stop when one of my monoblock amps stopped working :mad: . I turned it off fast and took it to the bench.

When I turned on, the 7K5 resistors got really hot and melted the solder! Time to stop and check.

I went and checked everything that I could check and I still haven´t found the fault.

Comparing with the healthy amp, I get 710V right after the rectifier, without output tubes, with the faulty one I get 570V before I have to hurry and turn it off...

Help guys, maybe I´m overlooking something that I can fix myself before taking the amp to a technician.

Thank you and best regards!!!

Luis

Amp

Amp Schematic

Attachments

• drdamp.gif
    drdamp.gif
    34.4 KB · Views: 308
A few things come to mind, the good thing is you have a good mono-block to compare your readings to first off I would make sure the tubes are good, possibly swapping them, second I would measure the primary and secondary of the audio transformers, Third I would kake sure the capacitors going to the B+ and the filament of the 300B are good, not shorted (the 50 and 3.3uf caps). You might as well check the 4 capacitors that are in parallel with the 2 7.7K resistors also for shorts.

Hope this helps.

Sal