• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Using isolation transformer as a PSU transformer???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi

I just read threads by Sy and Tubelab that using isolation transformer such as Triad N-68X is appropriate for PSU.

They have a 115 / 230 volt dual primary and a single 115 volt secondary. I have been known to hook them up backwards making a 115 to 230 volt transformer.

Could anyone explain to me how to hook this up backwards? I think I understand. But, high voltage always scares me. :eek: And I am a newbie! :)

Thank you.

The dual primary means it has two 115V windings on primary side and one 115V winding on secondary side.

To hook it up backwards, hook up the secondary winding to the mains, and connect the two primary windings in series and hook this up to your power supply.

Make sure to connect the two primary windings in-phase. Your transformer should say which end is 0V and which end is 115V on each winding. This sounds like it's producing DC, but it's actually indicating phase direction. So connect the two primary windings in this order: 0V-115V^0V-115V.

Hope this helps,
James

Thanks

Thanks James for the reply.

I have already hooked up 115v to 115v before. So, I assume that the transformer is already in phase? I am a scary cat. Reading through the high voltage warning page got me more scared, having already been zapped! :hot:

Thanks again.

Yaho.

Maybe I'm a worry wart. It would not surprise me to find that the single secondary has a few more turns than the dual primaries have. That would compensate for regulation effects.