• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

KT-88 from a book

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This schematic is from " An approach to auio frequency audio desgin"

Its a 30 watt KT-88, what do you think about it? Is it worth building?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

I have a large transformer to use, outputs of 400-0-400 no load, and outputs for filaments. No real idea of current, but the core is pretty big 3 1/4"X4 1/4"X 3 1/2".

Other amps you have built, that sound goos, but are still rather simple?

Thanks
Jeremy

JoshK said:
Why is that, Eli? I don't see what in particular about this design would make that so (I am still learning).

Josh,

Multiple caps. in the signal path, along with GOBS of loop NFB, make the design EASY to destabilize. The very last thing you want in an amp is to satisfy Barkhausen's criterion for oscillation. A 180 degree phase shift, unfortunately, does exactly that. :(

Notice that there are 2 signal path caps. in each leg of the amp. Right away, that's 120 degrees. Mediocre "iron" can EASILY provide the remaining 60 degrees.

Please examine the Mullard circuit. That topology has but 1 signal path cap. in each leg of the amp. So, it's MUCH more difficult to destabilize that topology. Cap. induced phase shift is only 60 degrees. ;)

Eli Duttman said:
Jeremy,

That's Williamson topology. Only creme de la creme O/P "iron" works in that style of circuitry. Otherwise, the phase shifts will make your life miserable.