• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

My 12AX7 zero negative feedback preamp, with measurement

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My 12ax7 zero negative feedback preamp, with measurement

All of my previous projects are Opamp based pre and power amps. Now I have tried tubes and I really love it! I am a tube newbie so I hope I can learn more.....

My 12AX7 zero negative feedback pre-amp : http://www.shine7.com/audio/12ax7_pre.htm

Here are some photos and measurements from the above page :

12ax7_pre-11.jpg

12ax7_pre-18.jpg

12ax7_pre-freq.gif

12ax7_pre-thd.gif

Gorgeous work alexw88, it suggests a professional's hand. That harmonic graph is a little strange though, specifically the 20 dB drop in noise floor above the fundamental. Any idea what that's about? RMAA can be a little flakey at times.

Incidentally, if you're not afraid of solid state, replacing the front end plate load and cathode follower cathode load with something like an IXYS CCS will probably drop those spikes much lower. And thanks for the board lead!

Thanks everyone for the comments :)

rdf said:
That harmonic graph is a little strange though, specifically the 20 dB drop in noise floor above the fundamental. Any idea what that's about?

Incidentally, if you're not afraid of solid state, replacing the front end plate load and cathode follower cathode load with something like an IXYS CCS will probably drop those spikes much lower.