Analog Metric grounded grid preamp kit - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd January 2008, 12:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Analog Metric grounded grid preamp kit

I've ordered this kit from Analog Metric:

Grounded Grid preamp kit

This is my first attempt at a valve-based component (I've done lots of class-t amps, gainclones, dacs etc.).

I plan on changing the coupling caps to obbligatos. I also have some 100uF/1000V Russian metallized paper caps which could be used for the PSU. Would this be a worthwhile upgrade over electrolytics?

The Russian caps are huge and would be tricky to house, but I'm happy to do this if they will be the better option.

Thanks in advance & happy New Year :-)
Old 2nd January 2008, 01:07 PM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Is this design actually licensed from the designer or is it just stolen?

edit: After poking around, it appears that this outfit is stealing trademarks and designs from a variety of sources. I would encourage people NOT to do any business with them. It's immoral, and given the appearance of the stuff, probably not very smart, either.
Old 2nd January 2008, 02:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Is this the same circuit as the Transcendent Sound GG preamp?

I (perhaps wrongly) assumed that they were similar, but I didn't think this was a blatant copy...
Old 2nd January 2008, 02:33 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Yes, the pc board in the pic has a legend from DIYZONE, also not known for their honesty. If they rip off designers they may as well rip off buyers. You have been warned!

Jan Didden
Old 2nd January 2008, 02:36 PM   #5
SY is offline SY  United States