New to tube building / design - Input requested! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th November 2007, 03:42 AM   #1
Zap is offline Zap  United States
diyAudio Member

Default New to tube building / design - Input requested!

Hi,

I am looking at building my first tube amp. I'm an Electrical Engineering Tech student, so I have a good knowledge of transistors and electronics theory but sadly they don't teach tube theory anymore so I am going to have to learn that part on my own before I can design my own amplifier! (Any references would be appreciated!)

At any rate, I have been looking at the Darling amp for a first project, specifically the James DC Darling (DC Darling amp using James transformers). I'd love to hear if this is a good choice.

I would be grateful if I could get some input here as half of my questions/concerns are probably nonsense and the other may be valid...

First off, I was going to use the James output transformers, as well as the James 930 power transformer. I would like some opinions on using a James choke in the power supply as well, or if the Hammond would suffice? It seems to be cheaper so I'm not sure if there is a trade off. Additionally, the James choke is rated for a different current value. I presume this is simply MAX current it can run at and would have no effect on the operation vs a lower rated choke?

Also, would it be beneficial to have a manual/automatic circuit to heat the filaments prior to applying B+ voltages? I know that many amps have this, but I am not sure if this is a concern here? I'd like to build something slick, so optional improvements are still of interest.