I have $250 to spend..what amp should I build? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th November 2007, 12:31 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default I have $250 to spend..what amp should I build?

Hi, I am new to building tube amps. I can read schematics and am looking for a good push-pull AB amp. I want 15 watts or more of power. I am interested in best sound quality (I know its subjective, but that is what I am aiming for). Anyone have a particular design they think sounds great? I am open for any suggestions, thanks.
Old 8th November 2007, 12:59 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I think you'll find it tough to build a STEREO amp for $250 - transformers alone could exceed that. But if you're willing to scrounge some used parts, it could be done...

EL34 or 6L6 can give you 20W or more in class A. 6BQ5s or similar can be done for less, if 10-12W is enough (Some rated them at up to 18W, but they were exceeding the tube's voltage ratings...)

If you've never built anything like this, rebuilding an old amp (even one from a stereo console) is a good first step.
Old 8th November 2007, 01:00 PM   #3
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

How good are you at scrounging parts from surplus? Aiming for "best sound quality" "15 watts" and "tubes" is a challenge at $250 if you have to source all new parts.
Old 8th November 2007, 01:26 PM   #4
jduffy is offline jduffy  United States
diyAudio Member

Default I remember reading about a cheap amp somewhere

There's something called "El Cheapo" based on a schematic and some guys who can help you. I forget what the specs were or the total amount of money you would need to spend in order to build it.