Preliminary 12AX7 guitar preamp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th November 2007, 01:58 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to raidfibre
Default Preliminary 12AX7 guitar preamp

This is preliminary, but it's what I drew up in a few minutes for a simple guitar preamp. I'm no expert so if anyone has questions as to why I did something whatever way..
Click the image to open in full size.

I haven't shown any of the power supply but I plan on designing an SMPS for the plate, opamp, and heater and putting it all on one board.
Old 5th November 2007, 01:59 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to raidfibre
I forgot to say that I haven't settled on values for any R/C components yet.
Old 5th November 2007, 04:00 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi

You must use a resistor between pin 7 of V1B and ground...

1 nF for C8, is to great a value.

R5 must be smaller , with 100 K you only get a overall gain of 2 ...

Greetings
Old 5th November 2007, 04:56 PM   #4
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

More or less everything tube_dude said above plus:

R5 needs to be reduced, gain is really about 10dB. (3X) Also running the op-amp open loop for ac is probably not the road to good sound, and may result in HF oscillation. Set gain around 20dB or so and the tube gain stage will provide anything required beyond that.

Watch out for the dc time constant in your op-amp dc feedback loop.
This might or might not be ok depending on other constants inside the loop. (I don't like this feature, I'd get rid of it - see above.)

C8 is likely to cause stability problems