ECC83/12AX7 Tube test query - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th October 2007, 10:14 PM   #1
waam68 is offline waam68  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default ECC83/12AX7 Tube test query

Hi
I recently aquired a B&K Dynajet 707 tube tester (allegedly serviced & calibrated). It seems to work well on nearly all the tubes in my old Heathkit amps & Tuners. However I get a short > 1Mohm (deflects the meter) on all the ECC83/12AX7's I try (4 so far). To check a reference tube I plucked a nearly new chinese 12AX7B out of my yaoin phono preamp but that also showed a short >1Mohm. The other tubes are all original mullard yellow label. I'm pretty new to tubes but am wondering if all the 12AX's could be faulty & if the 12AX7B would test the same as the B&K tube chart settings for 12AX7? Heater at 12Volts & sensitivity at 85. Apart from finding someone else with a tester is there any other way to check if these tubes are indeed bad?
Thanks
Mike
Old 30th October 2007, 11:52 AM   #2
Merlinb is offline Merlinb  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

A short between what and what?
Old 30th October 2007, 04:41 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Default Re: ECC83/12AX7 Tube test query

Quote:
Originally posted by waam68
I get a short > 1Mohm (deflects the meter)
Unless I misread, this is a good thing. A short > 1Mohm is not a short, it's open. So I suspect the tubes are fine.

Pete
Old 4th November 2007, 02:09 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

mmm sorry for the delay in getting back on this but...
According to the 707 tester manual for the shorts test in the Jet check section of the tester-