• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Rogers Cadet III Advice & Opinions Needed

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am a complete noob to tubes. After listening to a friends valve amp I am looking to buy/build one for myself.

I have been offered a Rogers Cadet III, it seems to be a one-box integrated version? The chap is asking £165 including all the valves, this isn't working, he says it powers up but just hums through the speakers. I suspect this could be bad caps, but I know of a guy who could fix it cheaply.

The other amp is a fully working pre-power version for £230.

I would really appreciate some advice here. Are they worth these prices? Could I build something better for not much more?

Please help!

Lee.

Thomo said:
I am a complete noob to tubes. After listening to a friends valve amp I am looking to buy/build one for myself.

I have been offered a Rogers Cadet III, it seems to be a one-box integrated version? The chap is asking £165 including all the valves, this isn't working, he says it powers up but just hums through the speakers. I suspect this could be bad caps, but I know of a guy who could fix it cheaply.

I would really appreciate some advice here. Are they worth these prices? Could I build something better for not much more?

Please help!

Lee.