Output transformers ? sound quality ? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 18th October 2007, 05:07 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Output transformers ? sound quality ?

I'm on the hunt for good quality p-p makes. Price obviously reflected, but welcome input opinions.
Sowter types are common....who's using'em and..what about other vendors good & bad ??

richj
Old 18th October 2007, 05:15 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I've been using mainly Lundahl stuff for a few years. It's excellent at reasonable prices.
Old 18th October 2007, 06:03 PM   #3
Tweeker is offline Tweeker  United States
diyAudio Member

A lot of people like the Dyna Clones Triode Electronics offers for budget iron. Especialy the Z565 model. It may not be so economic on that side of the pond though.
Old 18th October 2007, 06:45 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Tweeker
A lot of people like the Dyna Clones It may not be so economic on that side of the pond though.

I missed the Dyna on the triode site...The 451 suits my application nicely. For sure, the postage will cost more than the transformer. Since it isn't my money = tough.

Taa.

richj
Old 18th October 2007, 06:59 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

I'm afraid I dont see a 451 clone on offer by Triode Electronics. Closest I see to it is 431.
Old 18th October 2007, 07:21 PM   #6
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Tweeker
Closest I see to it is 431.

I was hasty with my enthusiam...youre' quite right. thanks

richj
Old 18th October 2007, 07:40 PM   #7
EC8010 is offline EC8010  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator Emeritus