• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Classic 16.0

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My first post here, and my first DIY, dont be too hard on me... :smash:

I got bored, no euros to upgrade my system, so I started playing with my amplifier... :xeye:

1. replaced all tubes with Siemens NOS...

2. removed uneccessary gadgets, inputs and selector, volume control, usage timmer, relays, etc...

3. removed global negative feedback

4. replaced 12AT7 with E80CC, replaced R28 on the power supply to cope with extra current of this babies, and removed cathode CAP to decrease gain further...

5. rewired input stage point-to-point with Allen-Bradley resistors and replaced WIMA coupling capacitors with Russian PIOs...

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

A bit messy, but it plays very well with my OB fullrange speakers, this is how it was originally:

Classic_old.jpg

TugaTweaker said:
Its seems a nice job . But good tube circuitry at are simplier with fewer components, and more solid state free the best .

Thanks, it doesnt look as good with enough resolution photo... :xeye:

I did remove 20 components and 2 meters wire from the signal path, plus some not needed accessories... :angel:

It looks fuller because of the size of the Russion PIOs...

What else do you suggest, simple enough for me to do... :confused:

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Sorry i meant "good tube circuitry at best...".In my personal