• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Heathkit W-5M

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I was recently given W-5M monoblocks that are in good condition although I haven't attempted to fire them up yet. I'm looking for suggestions on how to refurbish and/or mod them and whether it would be advisable to go with a new cap board or try to leave them as stock as possible. I'm not too experienced with DIY so the path of least resistance would probably be best for me.

Thanks,

Roy

You should just sell them to me for $75.00us each,, They are cans of worms :D

All kidding aside,
If you got lucky and got the ones with the peerless output transformers, Restore them. Though not the Best Mono's on the planet, They sound great!!

I think I still have an original assembly manual around here someplace. The Schematics are easy to locate on the web.
Trout

Trout said:
You should just sell them to me for $75.00us each,, They are cans of worms :D

All kidding aside,
If you got lucky and got the ones with the peerless output transformers, Restore them. Though not the Best Mono's on the planet, They sound great!!

I think I still have an original assembly manual around here someplace. The Schematics are easy to locate on the web.
Trout

They are the ones with the 16309 Peerless output trannys. I'm having trouble finding a replacement for the big Royalite caps so I was considering this http://quadesl.com/refurb/refurb_heathW5M.html

Do you know anything about these replacement boards?

--Roy

Do you know anything about these replacement boards?