diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubes / Valves (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/)
-   -   Phono pre amp RF problem (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/109032-phono-pre-amp-rf-problem.html)

eddievanjealous 25th September 2007 05:43 PM

Phono pre amp RF problem

hi all

i've been reading these pages for a long time but this is my first post.

I have searched the archives (and the rest of the net) extensively and i have not been able to find a solution.

I am an experienced tube-audio hobbyist (I have scratch-built 25- 30 tube audio pieces in the past few years). I recently built my first tube phono pre.

I used the standard RCA receiving-tube manual circuit married to the standard RCA low impedance 'input amp' as an output stage. The unit sounds GREAT, i mean, really really great, but it has pretty bad RF in the first stage. WEBE 108 in stamford CT. This station, BTW, often gets into tube studio microphones in the area.

I use a Grado green series (AKA the $60 one) cartridge. 56k imp. I use a 56k resistor from input grid to ground in the circuit.

I do NOT use a grid stopper resistor (the circuit did not call for one).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have several solid-state cheapo phone pre amps that work totally fine with this same deck and cart., so i assume this problem is correctable?

here are links to the original circuit if you care to check it out:

http://www.bonavolta.ch/hobby/en/audio/rca.htm

as i said before, i am using a 56k input load resistor instead of the 47k indicated here.

c/

Jeb-D. 25th September 2007 06:00 PM

Add a grid stopper.

Shoog 25th September 2007 08:05 PM

If the first stage plate resistor isn't straight on the pin - try a 10R plate stopper. I had intermodulation distortion from RF instability on mine and a plate stopper helped.

Shoog

cerrem 25th September 2007 08:22 PM

I also recomend using a grid stopper.....