• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Valve noobie asks for help / advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys! I am a total newbie to valves and electronics in general, so please be patient with me.....and not too rough. LOL.
I don't think I have ever read a post from SY that I have understood completely. :confused:
I have had lots of help from several of you with a speaker build project I recently completed. Thank you all. They are Awesome!
My Thor project

For the last 3 months I have read, read, and read some more, just trying to learn electronics and valve amp / preamp design.
I almost have a handle on some of this stuff.

I would like to build a preamp, and have purchased John Broskie's PCB kit for the ECC802s valves. I am using PSUII software for the power sections. AS recommended in the book "Building Valve Amplifiers" by Morgan Jones I would like to use 12VDC heater supplies. I know it is not neccessary with the Aikido design, but at my level I would prefer to err on the safe and quiet side. DC vs. AC heaters.
I have a question about the HT side that I cannot find an answer to, and would like some help please. The HT voltage to the valves is 1/2ed to aid in noise cancellation, does that mean that the HT should be 2 times the nominal rating of the valve data? I'm guessing no, the circuit will do that for me.