• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hum cancelling scheme?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hum Canceling Scheme?

I'm working on my first amplifier build (a Supro clone, parallel single-ended 6v6) and I'm seeking clarification on hum cancelling. I've been told that one scheme is to reference the heater/filament circuit to ground via a 100 ohm pot; better yet to reference it via the "hot" end of the cathode resistor. Does this crude diagram I've made do the trick? Seems simple enough but I'm still new to this stuff....

Many thanks,
Seth

Attachments

• hum cancel.jpg
    hum cancel.jpg
    17.2 KB · Views: 950
I'm not too sure about the hot end thing,

but this is the normal way of doing things,

1. if the heater transformer has a centre tap, earth that.

2. failing that, put a 100 ohm pot across the heater circuit, put the earth on the wiper, listen to the amp, and twiddle the pot until hum is minimised.

does that help.

also, read up on aikido and other noise canceling things at www.tubecad.com, john broskie talks a lot of sense on noise in preamps. you may find that useful.

kind regards

bill

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2004
If you make the heater about 30v more positive than the cathode, you can prevent thermionic emission from heater to cathode. Instead of taking the CT to ground, connect a 10uF cap from the CT to ground and arrange two resistors as a voltage divider between B+ and ground, to give you ~30v at the heater. Resistors should be high in value, around 220k - 1Meg. If necessary, to minimise hum still more, you can use a pot instead of the CT.