Philips Tube radio - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th September 2007, 03:01 PM   #1
Grifon is offline Grifon  Chile
diyAudio Member

Smile Philips Tube radio

Hi

I came across an old Philips Tube radio 1960 or there abouts , its an B3X00U model . I am a newbie when it comes to Tube radios so this is my first radio .

Now when I got it it was filthy inside with a resident spider , after a good clean and check for anything blown I switched it on, and to my surprise it was still working......however after about 20 minutes it cut out no sound , no hissing a slight hum coming through the speaker......boooo.....

After some time the signal came back for a 1min or so then go and then comeback.........

Thought it was the antenna , but it wasn't , checked the Tubes just to see if the switched on [do not have a tube checker]....UCH81 , UBF80 , UCL82 and UY89........they all seem to be on.

I was able to locate a schematic of the radio on the web here it is :

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Can someone give me an idea what could be the problem?
Also if you look at some of the values of the capacitors they read 10K or 4.7k what values are these I only know of uf and pf....
Old 16th September 2007, 12:27 AM   #2
PRNDL is offline PRNDL  United States
diyAudio Member

Most likely something went bad.
The two most common are electrolytics and a bad tube.
Old 16th September 2007, 03:46 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi,

I learnt somthing recently whilst cruising DIYaudio that seems to be relevant to your issue.