Edcor OPT's w/ SimpleSE - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th September 2007, 06:51 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Edcor OPT's w/ SimpleSE

Starting new thread for my SimpleSE build since I am not a Newbie anymore. I am in the process of building so I am a Doobie. But of course still being a beginner, I have another question.

As luck would have it, I somehow or another upgraded every part in the amp except for the OPT's and as I understand it, this is one of the components that has the greatest impact on sound quality. I currently have the Edcor OPT's but I am seriously considering getting the Hammond's that George mentions when suggesting the Edcor's as a cheaper alternative. I heard that the Edcor's are 'bass-lite' and this concerns me. Should I be concerned? Also, I have the JJ EL34's and Gold Lion KT88's. Which of these would give better sound quality?

Thanks to everyone so for all the help thus far.

Andy
Old 14th September 2007, 07:21 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The big Hammond OPT's are far from bass lite. The 1628SEA's have the best bass of any SE OPT that I have ever tested. When connected to my 15 inch OB speakers the walls move and the bass can be heard inside the house across the street (SimpleSE amp). These transformers are large (11 pounds) and are somewhat lacking in response above 15KHz. They are also over $100 each.

The small Hammond 125CSE's are very similar to the small Edcor transformers in performance, but cost $10 more. I have not tested the larger 125 series Hammonds.