The Infamous Kay 703C! - Help finding an output transformer? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th September 2007, 08:05 AM   #1
ambrose is offline ambrose  United States
diyAudio Member

Default The Infamous Kay 703C! - Help finding an output transformer?

Aloha, all... Ambrose here. New to the forum, so please take the slamming down a few notches for this thread. hahaha...

I've done enough tube amp repair work to know what a little nightmare the infamous Kay 703 can be, and as a working musician I know just how PHENOMINAL they are if you can get them purring and, well... safe haha...

My first Kay 703 was the first tube amp I decided to tear into to try and "soup up." It was actually working just fine, no serious hum, I was even playing it live in some small (and I mean SMALL) clubs... when one day, at an open mic gig some meathead told me that the little transformer mounted on the speaker could be lopped off for a volume boost. I wanted to upgrade the speaker to a Jensen Mod anyway, so not knowing much of anything back then, I cut it free (leaving what I thought would be enough length on each end to be able to re-plice).

Needless to say, chowderbrain that I am, I got my first ever whiff of bunt flesh that day hahaha... got shocked and GOOD... joys of being a young, dumb kid, I guess! Anyhoo, I tried to re-attach the transformer and ended up, well, destroying it.

I shelved this puppy and picked myself up another functioning 703. Years pass, and I damn near forget about it entirely until I'm pulling some old gear out of storage just this evening and I come across ol' shocky haha...