• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Trying to identify/find documentation on a 50EH5 amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I'm new to the site and the hobby and I could use a little help. I've tinkered around with tube type Ham and Shortwave gear off and on for a couple of years, but this is my first attempt at audiophile gear.

I just purchased my first little amp. I got it off eBay for $25 shipped. it even came with the original speakers.

All I know for sure is that it is a Magnavox phono amp using 2 50EH5's and a 12AX7. Aside from the numbers printed on the chassis that you can see in thee pics, the following is stamped on top 636275- 4.

It came with a block diagram but no schematic. On the diagrams lower right corner is: EL 1484-1. I have searched the internet using all these numbers and found nothing. Does anybody have or know where I can get a schematic for this.

It works but of course needs to be recapped (has nasty hum) and I'm trying to avoid having to figure out all the components and hand writing a schematic myself if possible.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks,
Rob

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Rob,
Welcome to DiyAudio!

You can also look for those phonograph schematics, they should be close. One of the RCA tube manuals should also have a circuit that is close to yours.

Lose the ceramic caps straight off. It will sound better with a different type in there. All coupling caps need to be replaced as well.

-Chris

Administrator
Joined 2004