• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

KT88 amp schematic/parts list

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
kt-88 amp schematic/parts list

I am new to this whole DIY thing. I have been doing some reading online and I think I want to make a stereo amp using kt-88 tubs and hammond 1650N output and 274 power transformers. Can someone recommend where to find schematics and parts list?

Re: kt-88 amp schematic/parts list

kgrant67 said:
... a stereo amp using kt-88 tubs and hammond 1650N output and 274 power transformers. Can someone recommend where to find schematics and parts list?

Based on the output transformers it appears you want to make a push-pull amp. There are tons of schematics online for that and some partial kits to help you on your way.

One idea might be to build clones of Dynaco's MK III amp. You can go to TubeZone.Net and check out the driver board kits. You would need a chassis, sockets for the KT88s plus your transformers and whatever connectors you decide on.

Mikael's KT88 amp that Arnold mentioned (and that I have built and use every day) is a single-ended amp. If single-ended is OK for your needs then I can highly recommend that schematic. Very good sound with the right transformers and quite easy to build.