Motorboating in Dynaco ST-70 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 30th June 2007, 11:52 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Motorboating in Dynaco ST-70

Okay, newbie here again with a basic question. I've been gradually restoring an ST-70. I've replaced the power supply, including a new filter can, all the caps under the chassis, and all the caps on the board. The board itself, the resistors and the tube sockets are original. All the values are the same or within an acceptable margin.

It's been running just fine, but the other day it started to oscillate a little, mostly in the right channel. I thought the bias might have something to do with it, and under biasing did make the noise go away. Obviously not a good long-term solution. Why would I be getting this if all the caps are the same values as the originals?

Here's the emabarassing question: could someone point me toward the right component to check on? I keep seeing that oscillation is caused by the cathode bypass caps, but I can't figure out which ones they are. Here's the schematic URL: http://www.drtube.com/schematics/dynaco/st70.gif
Old 1st July 2007, 12:18 AM   #2
d2134 is offline d2134  Romania
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to d2134
Check the negative feed-back path.
Check the 1k resistors (eyelets 13 and 12), the 47R resistors (eyelet 9), the 390 mmF capacitors (eyelets 14 and 11).
Check connections to OPTs (yellow and gray wires to eyelets and black wire to ground ).
Check the screening and ground connections, posibile positive feed-back.
Old 1st July 2007, 12:48 AM   #3
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator