• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Motorboating in Dynaco ST-70

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Okay, newbie here again with a basic question. I've been gradually restoring an ST-70. I've replaced the power supply, including a new filter can, all the caps under the chassis, and all the caps on the board. The board itself, the resistors and the tube sockets are original. All the values are the same or within an acceptable margin.

It's been running just fine, but the other day it started to oscillate a little, mostly in the right channel. I thought the bias might have something to do with it, and under biasing did make the noise go away. Obviously not a good long-term solution. Why would I be getting this if all the caps are the same values as the originals?

Here's the emabarassing question: could someone point me toward the right component to check on? I keep seeing that oscillation is caused by the cathode bypass caps, but I can't figure out which ones they are. Here's the schematic URL: http://www.drtube.com/schematics/dynaco/st70.gif

Check the negative feed-back path.
Check the 1k resistors (eyelets 13 and 12), the 47R resistors (eyelet 9), the 390 mmF capacitors (eyelets 14 and 11).
Check connections to OPTs (yellow and gray wires to eyelets and black wire to ground ).
Check the screening and ground connections, posibile positive feed-back.