• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Gross loudspeaker cone movement when using tube amps.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to the world of tubes having only previously diy'ed a pre-amp (Simple 5687 DIY Paradise amp) and a triode strapped SE EL34 power amp.

This weekend I completed the Morgan Jones Bevois valley Ultralinear EL84 Push Pull amplifier which kicked off my current problem which I would appreciate some help with.

Firstly some background. I built the EL84 PP as per Morgan Jones schematic using Hammond iron 370HX + 1608 output tx's (similar to Kofi's build) except I changed the gridstoppers on the E88CC from 330R to 4k7 (high but all I had to hand) on both pins 2 & 7. This appeared to overcome all the stabilisation issues.

I tested this amp using a MP3 player connected directly and all was well except I had to use nearly full volume on the MP3 player due to the low sensitivity of the EL84 Push Pull amp. OK I was happy at this stage as I can 'simply' alter the feedback resistor/cap set-up to increase gain as suggested on an earlier thread.

Anyway, as I already had the 5687 pre-amp available I decided to use this between the MP3 player and the EL84 PP amp. This worked fine with volume control at ~12 o'clock but this was not unexpected.

However, when checking the amount of background noise (no music playing) I noticed that the loudspeaker cone was intermittently flapping very excessively so much that I quickly turned the amps off fearing damage to the drive units:(