Pre-amp power iron advice?? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th June 2007, 01:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Pre-amp power iron advice??

Hi all i need some advice,

I am rebuilding my year-old hand wired, tube regulated (wish it wasn't, it causes big thump when they strike) botched up Aikido amplifier.
It has served me trouble free a long time but i still get nervous switching it on... so time to build it nice and relax a bit to the music.

I'm a student on a tight budget and have been considering power iron for the amp.
Is hammond a good choice?
the 2xx series power transformers are about half price of the 3xx series, i can work around the primary voltage issues no probs but i read the 2xx series are worse built and leak more flux?

I am also looking into dual power supplies per channel, this will eat all my cash up.. i can just about afford it but is it worth it?
I already have an old 350-0-350 @ circa 150mA transformer that works if i run both channels from it.

Many thanks!

P.S. im planning on ordering Aikido pcb's + sockets + attenuator kit from glass-ware, is the attenuator a worthwhile purchase?
Old 24th June 2007, 05:38 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Dual power supplies are not really worth it for a preamp. As long as the channels are properly decoupled there should be no problem.

If the amp thumps when powered on you could always wire up a time delay relay to close after a few seconds.
Old 24th June 2007, 11:12 PM   #3
jnb is offline jnb  Australia
diyAudio Member

As an enthusiast I can sympathise with you wanting to use separate power supplies for everything, I like to too.