• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Seduction or Cornet for phono???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I recently rescued a number of my vinyl albums from my folks place in England. They survived the trip back to Phoenix in spite of US Ariways' best attempts to destroy them. This means that I now have to consider the phono preamp and turntable.

If I buy a new turntable, then I'll likely go Rega (maybe P1 or P2) they come with MM cartridges.

My other choice is that of phono preamp.

After a bit of searching, I have selected the Bottlehead Seduction and the Hagerman Cornet for further consideration.

As I am new to DIY phono, I have a number of questions:

1. My Aikido preamp (using four 6SN7s) has a gain of around 18dB (maybe a little higher). Will the 40dB and the 44dB gains of the Seduction and Cornet respectively be sufficient???

2. Does anyone have any personal opinions of either of these?? The Bottlehead would be cheaper ($279) whereas the Cornet2 esitmates around $400 worth of parts.

3. Having had such anguish from building my Aikido, I would seriously like to buy a kit that likely has been troubleshooted already as far as noise is concerned. Are there any other kits that I should consider??

Thank-you,
Charlie

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I'm quite familiar with the Hagerman Cornet, great little phono stage, which I strongly recommend. (Musical, excellent detail and very quiet when built according to the manual.)

I reviewed it a couple of years ago in Positive Feedback Online and you should be able to find it in the archive.

I think either of these phono stages will have enough gain to use with your Aikido.

Aikido Phono