Maida Regulators Redux - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 31st May 2007, 12:54 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Maida Regulators Redux

Guys,

Maida's design calls for a 20 K./5 W. pot. I'm having difficulty sourcing the part. My application of the regulator is in refurbing OLD Fisher mono phono preamps (schematic) attached. The filtered B+ will be about 150 V. The regulated rail will be 110 V. per the schematic.

I'm a NOOB, when it comes to the "care and feeding" of regulated PSUs. The ability to adjust down to 1.2 V. is unnecessary in this case. My thinking is to put a 15 KOhm fixed resistor in series with a 5 KOhm pot. Is my thinking correct?

TIA for any info. provided.
Attached Images
File Type: gif fisher pr-6 schematic.gif (38.5 KB, 824 views)
Old 31st May 2007, 01:07 AM   #2
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

If it were me, I'd tell myself, "Self, it really doesn't matter if the voltage there is 148 or 152. And the voltage spread on LM317 tends to be pretty low- the equations for the output voltage get me within a percent or so every time. So just calculate the proper value of fixed resistors, and go with that, avoiding running DC through a pot wiper."

That's what I'd tell myself.
Old 31st May 2007, 12:37 PM   #3
Giaime is offline Giaime  Italy
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Giaime
SY is right. And also, why should you keep those low resistance values listed in the application note?

See schematic attached.
Attached Images
File Type: gif immagine.gif (10.7 KB, 746 views)
Old 31st May 2007, 04:23 PM   #4
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Eli,