• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Maida Regulators Redux

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Guys,

Maida's design calls for a 20 K./5 W. pot. I'm having difficulty sourcing the part. My application of the regulator is in refurbing OLD Fisher mono phono preamps (schematic) attached. The filtered B+ will be about 150 V. The regulated rail will be 110 V. per the schematic.

I'm a NOOB, when it comes to the "care and feeding" of regulated PSUs. The ability to adjust down to 1.2 V. is unnecessary in this case. My thinking is to put a 15 KOhm fixed resistor in series with a 5 KOhm pot. Is my thinking correct?

TIA for any info. provided.

Attachments

• fisher pr-6 schematic.gif
    fisher pr-6 schematic.gif
    38.5 KB · Views: 950
If it were me, I'd tell myself, "Self, it really doesn't matter if the voltage there is 148 or 152. And the voltage spread on LM317 tends to be pretty low- the equations for the output voltage get me within a percent or so every time. So just calculate the proper value of fixed resistors, and go with that, avoiding running DC through a pot wiper."

That's what I'd tell myself.

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Eli,
I've had pretty good luck with the LM317, for your application the resistor between ref and out could be about 1.21K (~1mA) which makes selecting the resistor for setting the output voltage really easy.

A 143K resistor would give you about 149V depending on regulator and resistor tolerances. The resistor dissipation is about 150mW, but due to the voltage involved should at least be a 1/2W RN60 type.