Which One Of These Tube Amps Should I Buy? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th May 2007, 04:12 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Which One Of These Tube Amps Should I Buy?

For my very first tube amp I'm pondering taking a shot at one of the many Chinese amps now available on Ebay. But since I'm a complete novice to tubes I'm having trouble making a choice. Of the two amps I'm looking at both have 845 output tubes and both have 20watts per channel. The only difference, if I'm correct, is one is SET and one is Pure Class A? Here are the links to what I am looking at:

845 SET

845-L1 Class A

Thoughts anyone?

Regards,
Dan
Old 25th May 2007, 04:30 PM   #2
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

By default a single ended triode amplifier is going to be class A. Both of these

The concerns in buying one of these is that many Chinese amplifiers tend to be a bit unreliable, and build quality is variable - some are very good and some are not quite so good. You should expect to have to do some work to assure that the unit you buy does not suffer from significant qc issues - that said they can be a good platform for modifications and upgrades if the chassis and transformers are good quality.

Note that these auctions seem to specifically exclude Canadian customers, but I have no idea why. Email the seller before bidding. The English in these auctions is not good, so I would not count on good communications with the seller for this reason.

Shipping either of these units to North American will be fairly expensive.
Old 25th May 2007, 05:05 PM   #3
arvin is offline arvin  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member