LTP w/ positive only supply - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Tubes / Valves

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd May 2007, 10:43 AM   #1
arnoldc is offline arnoldc  Philippines
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Yahoo to arnoldc
Default LTP w/ positive only supply

Folks,

I've been toying around with a LTP with positive only supply (shared cathode resistor for both) and I have a concern about imbalance and distortion.

With a CCS on the tail, I don't think this is much of an issue.

Any thoughts?
Old 23rd May 2007, 03:45 PM   #2
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

I have done this, the only caveat is making sure you have enough compliance voltage for the CCS.. Usually this means ac coupling to the inputs of the LTP and sufficient positive grid bias voltage to provide the compliance voltage the LTP requires. I have not had good results even with 6SN7 without making provisions for this, and with say 12AX7 or 6SL7 the provision for additional compliance voltage (or a negative supply) has been necessary for good (read acceptable) linearity.
Old 23rd May 2007, 05:28 PM   #3
SY is offline SY  United States
diyAudio Moderator

The issue with 6SN7, despite the rather high bias voltage, is probably the low gain, which bites hard into the compliance. In an LTP splitter, you've got half the input at the cathodes.

Your advice on using an RC coupling to float things a little higher is spot-on.
Old 23rd May 2007, 06:13 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Default Re: LTP w/ positive only supply

Quote:
Originally posted by arnoldc
With a CCS on the tail, I don't think this is much of an issue.
It isn't. Cascoded BJTs work very well for the CCS.