• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New K-12g only one channel working

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everybody I have a question for all of you I am new to the tube scene. I just bought and built the K-12g kit from S5 and I am experiencing some difficulties. You see after I got it all hooked up and I finally turned it on I was only getting sound from the left channel. Upon further inspection I found that there is sound coming from the right channel but it is very soft and slightly distorted I do not know what to done about this I have done some research and have found reports of the volume pot arriving damaged but I don’t know how to tell if this is the case. If anybody has any suggestions or ideas on how to remedy this problem I would very much appreciate your input. Thank you.

You can try a few things, though I'm willing to bet it is a bad connection (solder joint) somewhere, quite possibly in the ground connection on the faulty channel.

1- Check all your solder joints on the bad channel. Start with the aforementioned ground. This is at the "back" of the PCB where your speaker connections are. The through holes in the PCB are quite large and it is easy to have a bad connection there.

2- Check your connections at the volume pot. A bad joint there in the faulty channel can keep the signal from reaching the amp.

3- You can try swapping the tubes from the working channel to the bad channel on the off chance you have a bad tube.

4- Also check the solder joints at the coupling capacitor on the bad channel.

Good luck, when you get both channels working I think you'll enjoy the amp.

Sherman