• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Input Stage of the TSE

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have started my TSE build and wish to start a discussion on the operating conditions for the input stage of the TSE. I’m trying to understand the fundament theory behind the design. I am new to tubes and my electronics knowledge is very rusty to say the least.

As I understand it the Constant Current Source (CCS) does just that. It delivers a constant source of current which is set via the valve of R16. But should I add in any other resistance to ground i.e. R10? The CCS datasheet shows about 8ma out for an Rk of 330 ohms. This seems low as the 5842 datasheet lists an average plate current (Ia) at 25ma. R17 is to help stabilize the CCS. I’d like to be able to draw a load line for the operating parameters of the 5842 tube. Which I think will be a horizontal line.

Drawing
View attachment TSE Input Stage0001.PDF

The 5842 datasheet lists an average plate voltage of 150V. On the diagram it says that the R9 Trim Pot is used to adjust the Plate voltage. How does that work?

Any help getting me going in the right direction is very much appreciated.

Steve

If you randomly click around enough, you'll find George's page on what he calls "power drive". It's the combination of a CCS loaded tube voltage gain stage driving a source-follower FET current gain stage. It is the primary unique aspect of the TSE design.

PowerDrive

He even wrote a cookbook on how to setup the circuit in your own amp design:

PDcookbook