Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 11th February 2013, 01:05 AM   #1
kkcinc is offline kkcinc  United States
diyAudio Member

Default HELP! Power transformer hot and hums.

I bought this to replace the Allied and it seems to run as hot with more hum. Rated At 200ma vs. 175ma. Using 6550/5ar4/6201. I am still very new to this so don't make fun of me, but are power transformers supposed to hum? (Fairly loud) The amplifier works fine and sounds good so I think wiring is correct. I've had it running fine for quite a while with the Allied transformer. There is no hum whatsoever out of the speakers, just the transformer itself. Anyone out there using this transformer?

EDCOR - XPWR033-120
Old 11th February 2013, 02:47 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

A new transformer should neither run hot nor hum. They do though, but it shouldn't hum at an annoying level in a sensible installation and it should be warm, but not hot.

The first thing, you have a lot of voltage there, even with a choke input PSU.

Perhaps it'd be best if you gave a description or other details of the circuit.
Old 11th February 2013, 05:10 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Tubelab sse. Optional choke and cap. 560ohm cathode resistor. Running in ul with two 6550. One 5ar4. One 12at7.
Old 11th February 2013, 05:48 AM   #4
AJT is offline AJT  Philippines
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkcinc View Post
I bought this to replace the Allied and it seems to run as hot with more hum. Rated At 200ma vs. 175ma. Using 6550/5ar4/6201. I am still very new to this so don't make fun of me, but are power transformers supposed to hum? (Fairly loud) The amplifier works fine and sounds good so I think wiring is correct. I've had it running fine for quite a while with the Allied transformer. There is no hum whatsoever out of the speakers, just the transformer itself. Anyone out there using this transformer?