diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Tubelab (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubelab/)
-   -   HELP! Power transformer hot and hums. (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubelab/229786-help-power-transformer-hot-hums.html)

kkcinc 11th February 2013 02:05 AM

HELP! Power transformer hot and hums.

I bought this to replace the Allied and it seems to run as hot with more hum. Rated At 200ma vs. 175ma. Using 6550/5ar4/6201. I am still very new to this so don't make fun of me, but are power transformers supposed to hum? (Fairly loud) The amplifier works fine and sounds good so I think wiring is correct. I've had it running fine for quite a while with the Allied transformer. There is no hum whatsoever out of the speakers, just the transformer itself. Anyone out there using this transformer?

EDCOR - XPWR033-120

counter culture 11th February 2013 03:47 AM

A new transformer should neither run hot nor hum. They do though, but it shouldn't hum at an annoying level in a sensible installation and it should be warm, but not hot.

The first thing, you have a lot of voltage there, even with a choke input PSU.

Perhaps it'd be best if you gave a description or other details of the circuit.

kkcinc 11th February 2013 06:10 AM

Tubelab sse. Optional choke and cap. 560ohm cathode resistor. Running in ul with two 6550. One 5ar4. One 12at7.

AJT 11th February 2013 06:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kkcinc (Post 3364833)
I bought this to replace the Allied and it seems to run as hot with more hum. Rated At 200ma vs. 175ma. Using 6550/5ar4/6201. I am still very new to this so don't make fun of me, but are power transformers supposed to hum? (Fairly loud) The amplifier works fine and sounds good so I think wiring is correct. I've had it running fine for quite a while with the Allied transformer. There is no hum whatsoever out of the speakers, just the transformer itself. Anyone out there using this transformer?

EDCOR - XPWR033-120