• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

DN2540N5 cascade CCS

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.

I'm a complete newbie at DIY Audio scene, already learned a lot from previous posts and explanations so, thank you all :)

I'm ready to start to build a Simple SE, i have already a part list made and where to source them with an exception.... the IXCP10M45S. Cant find it anywhere in Europe and Mouser don't allow order it :mad: I investigate and a DN2540 cascade might work, the only concern is run the 12AT7 at 9mA which i might be able to do with the variable resistor instead of the 330 Ohm R13 resistor....

Can someone say if this circuit can replace the IXCP10M45S?

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

If a complete mess, please be kind ;)

Thanks

Rui

Can someone say if this circuit can replace the IXCP10M45S?

You don't need to get that complicated. The TSE and the SSE will both work with the DN2540 in place of the IXCP10M45S. The value of the current set resistor will need to be changed to get 9 or 10 mA. I built an SSE with the DN2540 and a TSE with DN2540's in place of the CCSs and the mosfets. Both worked fine. I can not find my notes with the resistor values written down but I think it was about 200 ohms.

The DN2540 is only rated for 400 volts. You will drop at least 100 volts across the driver tube so the CCS sees 100 volts less than the B+ so the DN2540 is fine in circuits with a B+ of 500 volts or less.