SSE volume pot wiring is melting my brain (due ignorance!) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 12th April 2011, 11:45 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default SSE volume pot wiring is melting my brain (due ignorance!)

Apologies, this may be a bit vague!

Do I just follow the wiring guide that Tubelab has posted on his website (for wiring in the volume control) and stop thinking about it too much?

I'm new to this and want to understand what I'm doing, rather than just doing it. I applied that mindset to the volume control wiring, and went probing with Mr Multimeter to measure resistances etc. The resistance values made sense, I got short circuit on the the black wires (input to output) and variable between short and 100k Ohm on the red wires (again, input to output) and that made sense to me.

Then I looked more closely at the wiring diagram and realised that the channels seem to be mixed up. So I stuck a 1.5V battery across the input of one channel, expecting to measure between 0V and 1.5V at the output depending on pot rotation. I got nothing at all, and now my brain has fried.

Sorry for the ramble. Does anyone see anything blatantly obvious? Should I just wire it as instructed and stop asking questions of it?
Old 13th April 2011, 06:17 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hello,

Just follow the wiring as stated on the website and you should be fine.

If not, then let me see if I can help. I am right handed,so, I want my volume pot fully open(connected, input of the RCA to the input on the board) CW and conversely, Short(grounded) at fully CCW.

Having said that, holding the volume pot in front of you, terminal pins directly on front with the pole of the wipers pointing upward(bottom of the case pointing downward), chose arbitrarily which one of the two rows is for the L and for the R channel. So you have

A B C
D E F