Simple SE Tubelab.com - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 4th October 2010, 03:24 PM   #1
Fenn is offline Fenn  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Simple SE Tubelab.com

Going to be ordering this PCB. I am completely new to the land of tubes and electronics. I have some experience with electrical but it's limited. Because of this I am going to have a bazillion questions and I will need all of your help. I have a soldering station on order. Aoyue 937+
While I am waiting to order the PCB, there is a transformer manufacturer right next door to my place of work. On tubelab.com he goes into detail about what will be needed for a transformer but he mentions making sure it is SE and not PP, what would be all the info I should give the transformer guys?
Thanks.
Old 4th October 2010, 04:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

A. Move this to the tubelab.com forum here.

B. Only have them roll the power transformers. Tube output transformers is a dark art, and SE are really hard to get right unless they have been doing them for years.

Id stick to the Edcor CSXE25-8-5K or hammond unless you want to get real pricey. You can save half by going to 40hz instead of 20hz with edcor

Hammond Mfg. - "Classic" Single Ended Tube Output Transformers - (1627 - 1642 Series)
EDCOR - CXSE25-4-5K

Edcor CXSE25-8-4K vs Hammond 1628SEA?
Old 4th October 2010, 04:13 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

How do I move it to tubelab.com forum? I didn't know there was one here, sorry.

B. Good to know thanks.

Those seem to be very pricey transformers. This is my first build and I don't need it to be the best thing possible. 25W is a lot. I thought in the description it said something like 5-14W output from the build? Maybe I misread.
Old 4th October 2010, 04:22 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Fenn: The Tubelab forum is here:

Tubelab - diyAudio