• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Simple SE Tubelab.com

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Going to be ordering this PCB. I am completely new to the land of tubes and electronics. I have some experience with electrical but it's limited. Because of this I am going to have a bazillion questions and I will need all of your help. I have a soldering station on order. Aoyue 937+
While I am waiting to order the PCB, there is a transformer manufacturer right next door to my place of work. On tubelab.com he goes into detail about what will be needed for a transformer but he mentions making sure it is SE and not PP, what would be all the info I should give the transformer guys?
Thanks.

A. Move this to the tubelab.com forum here.

B. Only have them roll the power transformers. Tube output transformers is a dark art, and SE are really hard to get right unless they have been doing them for years.

Id stick to the Edcor CSXE25-8-5K or hammond unless you want to get real pricey. You can save half by going to 40hz instead of 20hz with edcor

Hammond Mfg. - "Classic" Single Ended Tube Output Transformers - (1627 - 1642 Series)
EDCOR - CXSE25-4-5K

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/tubes-valves/83699-edcor-cxse25-8-4k-vs-hammond-1628sea.html

How do I move it to tubelab.com forum? I didn't know there was one here, sorry.

B. Good to know thanks.

Those seem to be very pricey transformers. This is my first build and I don't need it to be the best thing possible. 25W is a lot. I thought in the description it said something like 5-14W output from the build? Maybe I misread.

Fenn: The Tubelab forum is here: