Going through check out Tubelab SE - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 26th May 2010, 02:32 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Going through check out Tubelab SE

Finally got to put the multi-meters on the board and power the amp up. This is my first build so was a little nervous powering it up. Thankfully, nothing happened except a slight hum from the transformer. My initial readings were -14 vdc at B+, -220 vdc at B-, and 2.48 volts at the filament. I am using this amp with some 2A3C output tubes so the filament voltage was right on. After putting in the rectifier tube B+ rose to 407 vdc. Being the voltage that the 2A3C want is in the 250 to 300 volt range, should I change C4 to a different value? If so, by how much? I am using a Triad C-14X choke in place of R-4 and using the 47uF 450V cap. in C4. Thanks,

Matt
Old 26th May 2010, 05:14 AM   #2
rknize is offline rknize  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to rknize Send a message via Yahoo to rknize
What power transformer are you using? B+ will sag under load, but not 100V worth.
Old 26th May 2010, 05:53 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

I'm using Hammond 270HX. I've run PSUD and there doesn't seem to a rating for c4 that would get me below 300. How about a resistor before the rectifier?
Old 26th May 2010, 01:34 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

From George's page on the TubelabSE:
Tubes and Transformers

Quote: