Simple SE power transfomer question? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 2nd March 2010, 04:01 PM   #1
ryc989 is offline ryc989  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Simple SE power transfomer question?

Hi,

I am just putting together everything for my Simple SE project and had a general question about the tube types that can be used. I see that most tubes (EL34, 6L6GC, KT88, 6550, ect..) are all in the same general B+ voltage ratings, but if I wanted to use a 6V6 output tube, could I do that using the Allied 6K7VG?? If so, would it be as simple as using a different rectifier tube?? I don't want to overly complicate things as this is my first build, but I am also trying to understand options. I know that I would need a different value for the cathode resistor, and the value would be based on desired output power and B+ voltage. Any help and would be appreciated, also what would be a good B+ voltage in this amp for a 6V6 tube??

Regards

Old 2nd March 2010, 10:22 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryc989 View Post
...if I wanted to use a 6V6 output tube, could I do that using the Allied 6K7VG?
No. You'll end up with too high B+ voltage. Use the Allied 6K56VG instead.
Old 2nd March 2010, 10:28 PM   #3
rknize is offline rknize  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to rknize Send a message via Yahoo to rknize
The 6V6 wants to see a higher primary impedance on the OPT as well, though it would probably do OK at 5k. Personally, I thought that trying to support the 6V6GT was not worth the trouble.
Old 3rd March 2010, 12:05 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Any help and would be appreciated, also what would be a good B+ voltage in this amp for a 6V6 tube??