Tubelab Simple SE - fuse blowing - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 26th January 2009, 02:31 PM   #1
afrench is offline afrench  New Zealand
diyAudio Member

Default Tubelab Simple SE - fuse blowing

Hi everyone, I have been reading these forums for a while now, and decided to have a go at building an amp.

I chose to build a Tubelab simple SE which I have just about completed a , but am have some trouble with fuses blowing.

I am quite new at this so need a bit of guidance!

The configuration is as follows:

Hammond 374BX Power transformer (we have 230V mains here) Hammond 193H 5H 200ma Choke
80 UF 500volt motor run cap (not installed yet)
Edcor GXSE15-8-5k output transformers

RCA 6L6 output tubes (they are metal case type for testing etc)
GE ECC81
and a Zeninth "5U4GB" rectifier tube (have not been able to get a 5AR4 locally yet which doesn't break the bank!) I understand the 5U4GB is ok in this design.

It is wired up for Triode, and no feedback at this stage.

I have built the PC board up using the standard components on Georges web site.

Photos below.

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/s...nch034/Top.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/s...h034/Under.jpg

http://i581.photobucket.com/albums/s...h034/front.jpg

I fired it up for the first time last night, and although it only worked on one channel it sounded great. I started looking for any lose connections etc and after about 10min of checking, and switching it back on a few of times the fuse went. (I am using a 1amp fast blow as recommended by George). There was a faint smell of burning to.

Now it blows instantly when i switch it on. I can't see anything obviously burnt of incorrectly connected.

So far this is what i have tried:

1 Checked Primary side of Power transformer for shorts etc this appears to be ok.