Kaidee's Simple SE Build Thread - Page 3 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd January 2009, 01:38 PM   #21
diyAudio Member
 
whitelabrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
See this post for a photo of my Simple SE.

I used the big 1628SEA Hammonds as you can see. I had to use a large chassis to fit everything. That's a 17x10 Hammond steel chassis. I don't know if aluminium would be strong enough.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 06:05 PM   #22
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Yeah, I hate to spend more on this project, its well over 500 already, an initially i thought i could pull it off with 300 =(.

Can I trust the "standard" color codes on tubelabs website or are the allied and hammonds wired differently?

oh btw. my hammond's look really really ugly, anyone know how I can make them look like everyone elses? with the black coverings or those little boxes on top?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 02:56 AM   #23
diyAudio Member
 
whitelabrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
I never trust. It's nothing personal, but it's good to do some homework first. You don't want to damage those nice 1627SEA's.

If your transformers didn't come potted then I would suggest not trying to pot them. Just to be safe.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 03:20 AM   #24
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
does anyone have the wiring chart for the allied transformer? The sticker on the bottom and the website doesn't offer any help. and whats a 1627sea?

good news! i found a handy friend whos willing to custom make a simple enclosure for me =)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 08:22 AM   #25
chrish is offline chrish  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
chrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Sydney
Sounds like a good "starter project". If you are having a custom enclosure made, make room for the choke and supplementary capacitor. I think that chassis construction is the hardest part of building these things, so if you can make it easier for future upgrades, then you are more likely to experiment/upgrade. I used these capacitors Ebay motor run cap 500VAC 80uF they are only $12. As mentioned above, an inexpensive choke and supplemental cap will probably make the greatest change to your system and don't really cost that much.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 12:39 PM   #26
diyAudio Member
 
Ty_Bower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, DE
Quote:
Originally posted by nukaidee
oh btw. my hammond's look really really ugly, anyone know how I can make them look like everyone elses? with the black coverings or those little boxes on top?
I think he is saying he got the open frame Hammond "universal" transformers. They look something like the Edcors that cjkpkg used on his Simple SE.

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showt...38#post1622038

The wiring on the Allied 6K7vG power transformer will follow the "industry standard" colors. Yellow is 5v, green is 6.3v, red is the high voltage. The diagrams on the tubelab web site should be helpful.

http://tubelab.com/SimpleSE_wiring.htm
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 09:12 PM   #27
diyAudio Member
 
whitelabrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Maryland
My fault. Too much egg nog I guess. 125-CSE's. They should be small enough transformers that you may be able to mount under the chassis instead of on top. That assumes you'll have enough room underneath though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 11:54 PM   #28
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thanks for all your comments. I think I'll pass on the choke for now and stick to the resistor and my EMI filter. my current plan for the box is 9x12x3" . I think i'll measure the hammonds and see if they fit inside the box, that is a good idea. I can get motor run caps if i really need to locally at a parts surplus store. I am following the wiring on tubelab website and was just wondering if those color codes are safe, I guess it is. I'm just missing a pot now =( but I guess it'll be ok since most of my source is routed through my computer. Maybe the pots can wait unless if there is somewhere that wont charge me more for shipping than the pot ><!
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 12:27 AM   #29
diyAudio Member
 
Ty_Bower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Newark, DE
9"x12" sounds small. I think mine was 9"x14", and I felt cramped.

Click the image to open in full size.

Too bad there's no Radio Shack in Canada. These pots are cheap and work well enough to get you started:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062359
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 02:57 AM   #30
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
would you be willing to send me one via usps letter? like 1 dollar shipping? i can pay you via paypal etc?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SE - Build Thread soundengine355 Solid State 6 27th June 2009 01:19 AM
My SE KT-88 Build thread athos56 Tubes / Valves 13 21st December 2008 07:16 AM
My TABAQ Build Thread Consul Full Range 17 3rd September 2008 10:50 PM
Dan's Aleph Build Thread monarodan Pass Labs 19 14th February 2007 12:06 PM
The ESL Build Thread BillH Planars & Exotics 172 8th November 2006 10:01 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2