Rookie mistake?...Maybe... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Commercial Sector > Vendor Forums > Tubelab

Tubelab Discussion and support of Tubelab products, prototypes and experiments

Old 5th October 2008, 08:21 PM   #1
cjkpkg is offline cjkpkg  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Rookie mistake?...Maybe...

So I have been breaking in the Simple SE amp getting all the switches in place, making sure the PT and the OPT's are all arranged correctly.

I recently rotated the PT 90deg to address a hum issue. Everything was running beautifully...until while I was in the back yard and the wife comes running out and says "I think your thing broke..." Ugh...A string whiff of melted PVC...crap...

Sift through the damage and it turns out that one of the power leads shorted out right at the exit of the PT on the PT housing.

Now, I am a rookie with tube audio but I did run all wiring through the top plate through a grommet. I swear I was gentle with the wiring. But lo and behold one of the black power leads wore through enough to short out and fry the PT...

At least the fuse blew to save the rest of the amp but the PT is definitely shot...

/Frustrated
Carl
Old 5th October 2008, 09:13 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Location: Mar del Plata, a BIG seasonal getaway city, can see the Ocean from our residence.
Crap, Crap & double crap....I would bet that as you rotated your power TX you took up all the slack on your leads...being as TXs' are so heavy you probably didn't notice the grommet being cut thru into the chassis.
The force applied twisting & lifting the Tx seemed to mask the action of cutting thru your lines............My best guess.
___________________________________________Rick... .....
Old 5th October 2008, 09:17 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

To say the least (frustrating).