• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Newbie wants to build Tubelab SE Monos.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys, this is my first post here. Just escaped from the AA forum.
I am going to need help with this project, as I have never built any amps before, at least not from scratch. I have built a phono kit and my Audio Note M3 preamp kit.

http://www.audionotekits.com/line.html

I have been using it with a pair of DIY PP KT88 mono blocs that was not built by me. They have been pretty good sound wise, at least so I thought, until I tried a little Dared MP7 6l6 SET, from my office system with the better stuff in the tube room.

I couldn't believe the difference this little 6watt intergrated amp was making , driving 90db PMC FB1+ speakers in a 12X14 room.
I put it in there a month ago and its still there.
So I have decided that I want a nice pair of SET monos, and that I would like to build them myself, as there is not much mono bloc kits to choose from, and the Audio Note kit is just too expensive.

I also decided that I just want to do a good 300B design and be done. I don't want to be upgrading something every month, at least nothing major. So I want to use mostly the good parts.

I have been doing a lot of reading and I think I am about 70% literate as to how these various tube schematic work. The math part will take much longer. So I am looking for something simple and trouble free, that will work nicely with the AN preamp.

I have tried to narrow down my choice to these two that I found.
http://www.tubelab.com/TubelabSE.htm