Largest SQ improvement ever!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Wow. How things have changed for the better. Digital Audio no longer sounds like nails on chalkboard. We can tailor our system's sound to mimic other mega dollar pieces of gear, with just different chips, circuits, etc. However, the single largest change, and the one which had the largest impact on my system's sound,was the change in my perception and mindset.

Woah! I started in HiFi in the early 1980s. I feel I was lucky, to have lived through what I consider to be "the glory years" of HiFi. And I worked as a high end audio salesman for years in the mid 90s. And I never realized how terribly closed my mind was to innovation and change in audio gear. Amps were huge, heavy, Class A or A/B designs. DACs were the size of briefcases. And literally EVERYTHING had it's own sonic signature! In the quest for neutrality, It just was not very clear what neutral was at the time. It was Yin and Yang. Warm and musical. Or it was analytical and leaned towards bright. So it didn't take a genius to figure out, making systems sound good was nothing more than getting the proper blend and balance of Yin and Yang in a system to try and get towards neutral. Literally EVERYTHING was basically being used as tone controls. We were set in our purist ways. And the thought of EQ was a mortal sin! The idea was, if a system is of high end enough design and quality, and properly selected components and cables were used, with the speakers set up just right in the listening room, a system could then NOT be improved really, unless more money was spent on more expensive components. And this was true of systems I sold in the 6 figure ranges as well.