Steering the "Voyager" -- 40 years later! 80 yr old EE's

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Wow.

"Assuming a much narrower bandwidth, and manually subtracting the Doppler effect, they recalibrated their signal. It worked — but to this day, the same calculation must precede every command."

Getting a signal to and from those machines, is almost unimaginable. That is some real DX.

I was a sophomore taking an intro astronomy class when the first flyby took place. The prof. was giddy.

Win W5JAG

I hated computers. It was like programming some equations nobody knows what for using Fortran-4 language, waiting in the lane to punch cards, then waiting in the lane to give them to run, them a week later getting a print trying to understand what it was, and what that errors mean...
Only once it was useful, when I slipped inside of a program my own code, to calculate all notes up and down from 440 Hz. :D

I learned Fortran in 1965 while at school. ( The Math teacher had access to a computer in the downtime ).
I then learned Algol while at University ( 1972 ) while Basic for the Sinclair ZX81 came in 1982.

I have just had to learn how to program in Arduino for my Masters degree.

Andy

During university and a career in IT I learnt
Fortran
Algol 68
Schoonschip (you will definitely have to Google that!)
Coral 66 (you may need to Google that one too)
Macro-11 (and learnt to read PDP-11 machine code too)
C (tried to learn C++ too but didn't get very far)
SQL
Matlab

Also learnt a bit about 8080, Z80, 8086 (horrible!), 68000 (nice!), PIC.

I am still well below 70, so perhaps some ignorant journalist thought that machine code disappeared almost before general purpose computers were invented?

I learned assembly on a PDP-8 with core memory, and later on the Intel 8008, 8080, 8051 and so on.