Complete newbie question regarding tube sound

Status
Not open for further replies.
Before I ask my question, let me just start by saying I have yet to read the absolute basics of tube amps, but it is in hand! This question is intended to point me in the direction of where I should initially be looking.

I appreciate that the first response might be one of "go and learn the basics first, then ask again", and if that's the case then so be it... :eek:

I have little experience of 'proper' tube kit, I think the only item I have had that was tube-only was an Audio Research preamp. Everything else I have had that was tube-related was hybrid. My kit always sounded clean, but a bit dark and uninvolving.

Once or twice I have come across kit that gives - to me - a more 3D rendering of instruments. It sounds as though the air is a bit 'thicker' around them. I have also heard the same effect overdone by some gear, which makes it sound a little less 'real', as it seems to be in a bubble in its own space away from the rest.

I realise this is subjective, and on some forums I'd be shot down for even suggesting such a thing (I've heard engineers saying that modern tube designs don't have a sound of their own), but...

Is there a specific tube amp type that causes this to happen, or is it something that can be done by several designs (SE, PP, etc)?
What is it that makes this happen, is it enhancement of a frequency range, or the addition of distortion (harmonics?)? :confused:

Solid State amplifiers are designed to give an amplified as true as possible sound. Linear is a reasonable way to describe the sound. Think Technics. (Other glitzy manufacturers are available).