Complete newbie question regarding tube sound

Status
Not open for further replies.
Perhaps a small illustration of a small 'blind' test to prove something often overlooked?

Four friends and myself did such a test - particularls later. During a great many 'events', one person was correct as many as 6 out of 6 times consecutively, on two occasions. 5 out of 5 consecutively occurred a number of times. In the end some 150 tests were done. (How long did all this take?!)

Well, it was not an audio test, it was the tossing of a simple coin. As expected, the end result was within >74 - <76.

Point: If those intervals of 5 or 6 correct out of 5-6 were to have occurred right at the beginning and the experiment terminated after such, what could be more positive proof of dead certainty? Yet the truth was that the correct result was 50-50.

The moral is obvious. A single test or even several cannot render a result of any statistical value, only chance. Even after 150 events our results were not exactly 75-75. Statistics as I recall, and depending rather much on the nature of a test, is frowned on if not at least 10 tests are done, preferably quite more.

South Africa may be not the best place for such tests.

One friend once took us to horse racing. There was a flea market nearby, so we went there, and I paid 159 Rands for a couple of speakers for a used car that I bought recently for 10.5 thousand Rands.
There I could guess 4 horses who come first, and write down the order in the form. Another option was, just to guess 3 first horses, no order. When going there, I was thinking of numbers. I am not a gambler, so I did not care, but selected 4 numbers, I do not know why.
I put 3 numbers and won exactly 159 Rands. But if I put all 4 in the order that I "got them in my head", I would get 10.5 thousand Rands.
So, your tests don't count; wrong place! :D

So does everyone.
I have an anecdote.