HiFi costs explained...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First of all hi, I'm very new to hifi but have been pointed in the direction of AKSA and it's followers.

I'm extremely interested in getting great sounding hifi and initially did the classic thing of buying What HiFi to see all the expensive Cyrus, Audiolab and Naim equipment, all of this equipment was too expensive for me. I then started to do some digging around and came across a UK company called NVA which got amazing reviews but obviously avoids all forms of marketing.

This led me to the entire World of high end hifi but it left me very confused and searching for a straight and honest answer to why hifi is so expensive and what is the difference between a £100 amp, £500 amp and a £5000 branded amp.

To be the internals of an amp look cheap (not sure if I'm right or wrong) and seem to include a big power supply, circuit board/s and connectors and a volume dial. Now I understand that cases, screens, dials etc can cost money but why are Amps in general so expensive?

Like I said I'm new to hifi and I know very little but am keen to learn and understand just why amps and dacs have such varying costs and from a sound point of view what's important.

Amp cost to the consumer = Dealer profits + Dealer allocated fixed costs (rent, insurance, utilities, advertisement) + dealer variable costs (commissions, etc.) + manufacturer profits + manufacturer allocated fixed costs (rent, insurance, utilities, salaries, research & development, marketing expenses) + manufacturer variable expenses (labor for assembly, electronic component costs + chassis costs).