Sound Quality Vs. Measurements

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't know where you gents ate in Germany, but my experiences indicate that German cooking is a bit limited in scope (many variants of the same thing), but is otherwise rather good.

Then again, I do not eat in company cafetirias. And I do not eat what I cannot identify.

Perhaps, having a cook's qualification, I look at things a little differently ... Nothing fancy, mind you, it's an army qualification good also in civvies. While serving national service, 1980-1981, I cooked two complete dishes for 120 men and hardly ever had any leftovers. Not in any barracks, but in a Military hospital, where one is inspected not by some Rambo officer, but by doctors.

At this time, I will discreetly avoid mentioning that I was an accomplished cook before I even got to the army, because if it was left over to army cook training, I would have been the best man in the enemy's army.

I will give the army this - their cookbook is easily the best I have ever seen, from anyone, at any price, bar none. It had complete breakdowns of each and every meal's contents down to the minute details, and whoever drew up those monthly menus, I bow to him with utmost respect, that was one hell of a good nutrician.

Proof? Well, literally everybody I know picked up a few pounds in the army, except me - I lost like 14 pounds of bodyweight. All day with food, lick this, try that, and you lose all appetitete, my feast was a loaf of fresh bread and two pints of lemonade. Me, who cannot imagine a meal without meat. That's why pro cooks are either like barrels, or two fingers lean.

scott wurcer said:
Did you ever eat in a British company cafeteria?